Wiki Career Change/Banking to Medical Coding - Need Advice

chall24

Best answers
I am in the process of studying for the CPC exam. I have 10 years of work experience, however my experience is in Banking compliance, fraud and customer service. I also have a Bachelor?s degree in Journalism, an Accounting Certificate, and a Certified Fraud Examiner certification. I really want to transition into Healthcare, and I would like to obtain a job in medical coding, which is the reason I am studying for the CPC exam. Once I receive my experience in medical coding, I would like to become a Medical Auditor.

I?m really worried that I will have a difficult time finding a job in coding, because I don?t have any work experience in medical coding or billing. Is there anyone here that could please give me some advice? Am my making the right decision by taking the CPC first and then looking for a medical coding job or should I go a different route? Will it be difficult for me to find a medical coding job once I obtain my CPC?

Career Change

I too have experience in the finance/insurance field but was laid off two years ago. I decided to make a career change at that time and recently passed the CPC exam. I am finding it very hard to find a position, as everyone wants an experienced coder. I am currently working an (unpaid) externship to get the experience and spend the time off I have to continue to look for a coding job. I am sure this is not the response you were hoping for, but wanted to share my experience.

Anyone in the Albany, NY area willing to hire a CPC-A, I would love to hear from you!! kpenfold2@nycap.rr.com

Thanks for your reply. Any information is helpful. It's good to know someone else is having a similar experience and can offer some advice.