Wiki Billing for Physician, sx done at the hospital

Best answers
Hi Everyone,

I am new at billing for hospital. I bill and code for my physician. The girl before me, used to do all the coding and billing for the doctor and for her cases that she performed at the hospital. My question is when a patient is inpatient, if I am billing for the physician, how do I bill for this. I have noticed that the previous girl billed all of the claims as outpatient. Is there a reason for that? should I be billing for inpatient or outpatient? I don't have the information of when patient was discharged and I am only billing the actual surgery performed by doctor. So I am not sure exactly how to bill it. Please help answer these questions. :confused:

You need to find yourself a contact person at the hospital. Whether you bill inpatient or out will depend on the patients status with the hospital...and has nothing to do with the fact that your doctor is a "professional" provider, and not an in-house hospital provider.

Call to either registration or medical records, and just explain that you are new and need to find out how to find out if the patient was in or out patient. My docs have always brought me back a "face sheet" from the hospital that usually includes info on the patients status.

I don't know why she would have billed Outpatient for an Inpatient. That is not correct!