Wiki Billing 64493 in OR (rev 360)

dottay997

New
Best answers
Looking for CMS guidelines for 64493 and appropriate revenue code for billing. Specifically, looking for billing guidelines; off-campus (Not ASC) facility OR (revenue code 360)? In reviewing CMS LCD, it does state that neither conscious sedation nor monitored anesthesia care is considered necessary, so I am trying to understand the medical necessity of billing in OR vs treatment/procedure room.
I am currently a student preparing for my COC certification.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Last edited:
Revenue codes mainly exist to designate hospital department revenue centers for internal accounting purposes, and are not for coding information or reporting of services, although some payers may require specific revenue codes be used per their payment policies or contracts. So the assignment of a revenue code should be based on hospital policy, not on any coding guidelines. CMS does not require specific CPT codes to be associated with certain revenue codes but offers a HCPCS/Revenue Code Chart as a guide in Chapter 4 of the Medicare Claims Processing Manual, link below, which is also a good reference for other outpatient hospital billing questions - see section 20.5, which indicates that this "is intended only as a guide to be used by hospitals to assist them in reporting services rendered. Hospitals that are currently utilizing different revenue/HCPCS reporting may continue to do so. They are not required to change the way they currently report their services to agree with this chart":

https://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-Guidance/Guidance/Manuals/Downloads/clm104c04aug_op_hospital.pdf