Wiki based on this sample chart....

TSmith9672

Networker
Best answers
hello all, I am new to derm coding and am very confused on the correct code for shave bx and punch bx. If I am correct the technique does not influence code selection but rather the size and location...??? when I look up shave bx and punch bx it yields the same code(s) 11100 and 11101 for each additional lesion. Would anyone be so kind to take a look at the sample procedure note(below)and explain/break down how I can determine the best code selection and the documentation required to support shave bx and punch bx. Thanks in advance!

female
Here for a skin check. No new or changing moles today other than two mentioned below, melanoma scar looks and feels fine on L thigh.
Moles all over. On R thigh one is darkening (midline thigh, called medial) and one is changing shape (lateral thigh).

Review of Systems:
-no fevers, chills, weight loss, cough, headaches, shortness of breath, or lumps under skin

Past Medical, Family, and Social history:
-married, has two sons, 4 grandchildren (3 from son's wife's prior marriage)
-melanoma, see above
-fell off toilet in March (vagal episode) but doing fine

Exam:
-general: alert, well nourished
-skin:
Fitz 1
-R medial thigh hyperpigmented macule with jagged edge, R lateral thigh hyperpigmented macule adjacent to tan patch (lentigo v SK adjacent to nevus)
-back tan to brown waxy stuck on papule(s) consistent with seborrheic keratosis(es)
-back, arms, legs, chest hyperpigmented macules and papules and some skin colored papules consistent with benign nevi
-no palpable lymphadenopathy in neck, axillae or inguinal creases
-face, scalp, ears, neck, chest, abdomen, arms, legs, back, buttocks, groin clear other than above lesions

Assessment and Plan:
1. HX OF MELANOMA OF SKIN MELAN FOLLOW-UP COMPLETE Total body skin exam done
No new or changing moles
ABCDEs discussed

2. NEVI/MOLES.