Wiki Back and stuck on Encoders again, trying to understand them.

Best answers
Has anybody tried an encoder program for their coding? What is it like, is it much easier to code reports? I know AAPC has practicode and codify, is codify just like find a code or is it an actual encoder program?

Encoders including Codify are similar. What are you coding? I have been coding orthopedic surgeries for ten years. My company supplies EncoderPro and it speeds up coding especially when dealing with several procedures performed during the same session. Another coder I know uses Codify and she says it's similar, just laid out differently and supplies other information. I can only speak from my experience. Without it, my work would slow down significantly. Maybe someone who primarily codes E/M can tell how they use it.

I personally would describe an encoder as your coding books on steroids. Besides everything in your CPT/ICD/HCPCS, you will have additional descriptions of each code. It will give you RVUs, NCCI edits, LCDs/NCDs, global periods, allowed modifiers, MUE, Medicare fee schedule. It's all the info in your books, plus just a whole lot more. You can make favorites, and notes (that don't have to be recopied into new paper books every year). It's not a magic wand where you type in a single word, and it gives you the exact CPT/ICD10 you should use. You still need to read the descriptions, coding guidelines, etc. Depending on what you code, it might save you 30 minutes a week, or might save you 6 hours a week.
Most employers will supply you with an encoder (Codify for me). I use it often to check NCCI edits, whether an assistant surgeon is allowed, and for LCDs/NCDs. When I occasionally come across new procedures, it is helpful to read a paragraph explaining the surgery as opposed to one sentence. If my employer did not supply an encoder (never worked somewhere that did not), I might pay out of pocket for one, but find the cheapest one and only the basic subscription.