Wiki ASC billing - Denied MCAR

Best answers
I'm new to ASC billing and we got a denial from MCAR with code CO-8 "The procedure code is inconsistent with the provider type/specialty (taxonomy). Note: Refer to the 835 Healthcare Policy Identification Segment. I tried researching & looking for the answer online but never got a direct answer for it. Does anyone know or any experience on this and how it can be solved?:confused:

I'm new to ASC billing and we got a denial from MCAR with code CO-8 "The procedure code is inconsistent with the provider type/specialty (taxonomy). Note: Refer to the 835 Healthcare Policy Identification Segment. I tried researching & looking for the answer online but never got a direct answer for it. Does anyone know or any experience on this and how it can be solved?:confused:

This needs to go to whomever in your system set up the billing system. They need to check the provider taxonomy codes to see if that provider is correctly set up for the type of service that was being done. Every provider has a number of taxonomy codes to choose from for the types of service they perform. If the correct one is not registered, payment will be denied for certain types of care.

"What are the Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Codes (HPTC)?