Wiki ASC and Supplies and Meds

jifnif

Expert
Best answers
I have never coded for ASC before so I have a few questions; when is it appropriate to code for supplies (even if not stated in note such as trays) or stated as nasal cannula? When would you code for meds such as demerol prior to a bronchoscopy? When do you know to code from ICD9 procedure or CPT procedure? Thanks ahead! Any other pointers for ASC would be very helpful. :)

ASC Coding

I have never coded for ASC before so I have a few questions; when is it appropriate to code for supplies (even if not stated in note such as trays) or stated as nasal cannula? When would you code for meds such as demerol prior to a bronchoscopy? When do you know to code from ICD9 procedure or CPT procedure? Thanks ahead! Any other pointers for ASC would be very helpful. :)

Ambulatory Surgery Foundation has awesome tools for coding ASC. These are all CMS based rules, so your commercial carriers may allow for other supplies to be billed - it will be laid out in your contract- but for a good baseline tool, you can't beat this Plus it's free1

The link here will take you to the page with Medicare rate calculator (you can put in your zip code so it's location specific), a device intensive list (most implants in an ASC are included in the payment for the procedure), a list of ancillary procedures and supplies which are payable at an ASC, procedures that are considered as included in another in an ASC and office based procedures which can be performed in an ASC and what the rules are.

http://ascassociation.org/medicare2011/
ASC coding and billing is quite different. I would really encourage you to attend whatever ASC association meetings you have in your area. They are a great resource. If you have any quesitons I can help you with in the meantime, just let me know.