Wiki Arterial Duplex and ABI

Best answers
I work in a hospital setting and every Arterial Duplex (93924) that comes in we do an ABI (93923) with the Duplex. The facility is telling me that we are unable to bill these together but there are no CCI edits with this. Can someone with vascular experience tell me if we can in fact bill these two codes together or should we only be billing the Arterial (93924). I truly appreciate the help and time with this as we have been going around in circles and I would really like to know how other facilities are doing it. Thank you so much.

I do see CCI edits with these 2 codes.

BUT, if you look in the CPT book, under 93924, it states "do no report 93924 in conjunction with 93922, 93923".

I do see CCI edits with these 2 codes.

BUT, if you look in the CPT book, under 93924, it states "do no report 93924 in conjunction with 93922, 93923".
Sorry! I should not have used that code. That is for the stress test which we do not do here. If I do a 93925 and 93922 can those be billed together. I did not see any edits with that and did not see anything in the book that includes or excludes it. I tried looking up the Medicare guidelines but it looks like they should not be reported together? It states they are generally not done together but we do them on every patient.

Does your order set include the second test or do your physicians order both tests? I'm looking at this from more of a compliance standpoint wherein you shouldn't be performing testing that isn't ordered by the treating physician. What is the medical necessity for the additional test?

Does your order set include the second test or do your physicians order both tests? I'm looking at this from more of a compliance standpoint wherein you shouldn't be performing testing that isn't ordered by the treating physician. What is the medical necessity for the additional test?