Wiki Are you a CRC and/or do HCC risk adjustment coding? If so I would like your feedback!

Best answers
Hi there,
I very much would like to prepare for my CRC certification. My primary purpose is for the potential to work remotely as well as be able to independently consult on risk adjustment coding for healthcare systems and health plans alike, particularly on HCCs. However, I want to make sure I know what I am getting into as far as expectations of a risk adjustment coder. My questions are:

- Is it common for Risk Adjustment Coders/CRCs to also have a clinical background or active clinical license, such as RN, FNP? I have seen several management-level risk adjustment coding jobs with these requirements. (thinking career advancement potential, since I do not, and will never, have any type of clinical credential)

- Are Risk Adjustment Coders also expected to code ICD-10 PCS as well as inpatient? Or does this depend on the job itself? My background is primarily physician office/professional billing/coding/reimbursement, so I do not feel I could easily transition to any PCS/inpatient charts. Does this limit my options?

Thank you for your time and feedback! I think risk adjustment coding is a tremendous opportunity to get a leg up on due to the Affordable Care Act, Medicare Advantage plans, etc, but it's a huge time and $ investment (cost of prep course, exam, etc) so I wanted to be sure I did my homework first.

Would love to know your thoughts!

Regards,
Jill