Wiki Any Ortho coders trying to learn Cardio?

Robbin109

Expert
Best answers
I'm looking for someone who is proficient in ortho coding to help me.

I'm a certified cardiology coder, CCC, so I could teach you cardio.

Looking for someone to trade coding questions/answers via email.

I didn't think anything could be harder than cardiology coding....until I tried to learn ortho...shew!

~Michelle, CPC, CCC

I am a Certified Orthopaedic Surgery Coder.

Yes, I have heard, and been told many times, that Ortho and Cardio are the most difficult to learn, and to code.

I am interested in learning cardio, but at the moment, I don't have a call for it. However, that may change in the (possibly, near) future.

Adrienne, CPC, CMRS, COSC

Maybe you can help me now and I would be happy to help you at any point in the future?

Also, Can you suggest a good educational book to learn Orotho. I bought the Advanced Coding Education Guide for Orthopedics by Margie Vaught, which is good, but it just right to advanced procedures and skips over a lot of the basic/beginner stuff I need.

I'm looking at the Decision Health Orthopedic procedure Coding books, but I'm not sure this is what I am looking for either.

Looking for a book that explains each procedure and tells when something can and can't be billed with it..etc.

Any Suggestions?

There are some really good coding softwares out there. I, personally, like and use EncoderPro.com.

If you want to learn and understand tests, signs, or really, anything ortho, I highly recommend "A Manual of Orthopaedic Terminology". I believe the 7th Edition is the latest. The authors are listed as Fred R.T. Nelson, MD, FAAOS and Carolyn Taliaferro Blauvelt, and is a publication of Mosby/Elsevier.

I started in Ortho in the 90's and new NOTHING. Back then, the office had (I believe) the 2nd Edition. I LIVED out of that book. It was, literally, my BIBLE!