Wiki Any Bariatric Coders Out There?

hpierce

Best answers
I work as a coder at a physicians billing office and we do the billing for a Bariatric program. I am new to coding for Bariatrics. Is there anyone that could give me some guidance on diagnosis coding for office visits? Are there any references available out there I could look at?

I was under the assumption that if they were seeing a bariatric doctor, then the obesity code should always be listed first; why else would you be in a bariatric program? But, what diagnosis do you use when the patient comes back for their follow up visit (post gastric bypass)? Do you use the obesity code as primary or do you use a V code? What about for lap band adjustments? Is it based on the payer?

Any help you could provide would be much appreciated.

:confused:
Thanks!
Heather P.
CPC

For the initial visit and surgery you use the obesity CPT 278.01, the BMI, and co-morbidities. After they are out of the global package, for follow up visits use V45.86. If the patient has had a lap band and undergoes a fill or unfill then use V53.51. Medicare uses these diagnoses as of 10-1-10 - YEA!! Hope that helps.

I agree with the diagnosis' given to you, but wanted to add. If the first fill is performed within the 90 global period to surgery, you can still bill for the fill use modifer 58. It is the doctor's plan to fill the band, on a later date. No reason why we should have to do the first fill for free.

According to General Surgery Coding Alert/2009. Vol.II, No.8 if the patient is still within the global perfiod of the original surgery, adjustments fall within the global period postoperative management and you cannot separately report the service. In other words, there is no separate new payment for staged adjustments that fall within the surgical global period.