Wiki Another in Need of Vascular Help!

jtb57chevy

Networker
Best answers
I am also new to vascular coding and would appreciate help with the following:

Dr performed Aortobifemoral bypass w/PTFE graft. I think 35646 is the appropriate code, but I don't know if the following sentence represents an additional service - " the peritoneum was entered and a small amount of adhesions were taken down". I'm thinking 44005 -enterolysis of intestinal adhesions.
My biggest difficulty is in determing what is included in the primary procedures and what is separately billable. Any advice on good reference books/materials/conferences?

Thanks for any and all help!:)

Lysis of adhesions is included in the primary vascular procedure code. There have been cases where the adhesions are SO extensive and time-consuming that I have billed for this additionally, however "a small amount of adhesions" is to be expected in the encounter and isn't billable seperately.

Vascular coding is a very gray world... I've been doing it over 3 years and still don't have all the answers! The experts don't always have all the answers either. If you will be doing more endovascular procedures, I highly recommend Medical Asset Management, Inc. and ZHealth. Best wishes and good luck! :)

Another good book is Ingenix Coding Companion Cardiology/Cariothoracic surgery/Vascular Surgery. Also there's a conference in Chicago next month, Challenges in Vascular Surgery: Coding & Reimburement for Vascular Surgeons. I went to the conference for the first time after coding for Vascular Surgeons for 5 months. It gave me a better understanding of Vascular Coding. Its worth attending. Maybe you should speak with your office manager, they may be interested in sending you to the conference.