Wiki Advice for my job search

Best answers
I just recently became certified as a CPC-A and have begun the dreadful job search. I realize that sometimes you have to start at the bottom and work your way to a coding position, but I have searched high and low and cannot find one single job in the medical field that does not require a minimum of 6 months (usually more like 1-2 years) experience. I have never worked in the administrative area of the medical field, so I have no experience to put on my resume. I try to point out my education and certification but I am not getting ANY bites! Does anyone have any advice to help me get my foot in the door? I am starting to feel like maybe I chose the wrong career path.....really need some reassurance! Thanks so much.

Nicole CPC-A

Have you thought about volunteering?

You could check in your area at local facilities, and billing companies. I know this can be difficult when we need a paid position, but this may be your best option.

I do feel the same. But I am going to try untill I find a job. Just hang in there.
I am sure you will find it.

job search

Nicole,
You may want to try temp agencies and ask them if they have medical billing/coding positions. This will help get the experience you need.
Veronica

I have applied at every local staffing agency in my area, only one has replied back to me and even they are having trouble finding me a position without experience. I have also submitted a "Project XTern" form to several medical offices. I am just not getting any feedback and don't know what else to do!

Nicole CPC-A

Nicole,

I notice you are up in Everett. I was just hired at Valley Medical Center in Renton without experience. Although it would be a long commute it looks like they still have a position listed on their website with a minimum requirement of a CPC-A.