Wiki Actinic Keratosis Conundrum

pclaybaugh

Networker
Best answers
I may be going down the rabbit hole…it’s late in the day and I might be overthinking, but here goes…

A provider is documentation actinic keratosis and ICD guidelines state that a source is needed. This “source” is not documented. He has also coded 17000 as well as 17003. Past medical history states no personal history of skin cancer, which may very well be.
I maintain that these are to be coded as lesion and the removal of benign lesions should be used unless there is further evidence in the documentation to prove otherwise.
Please opine. I am new to the derm world, be gentle.

you should look close at the documentation.. did the provider render a diagnosis of an AK or did he assign a code for an AK. If the provider rendered a bona fide diagnosis of an AK then as a coder we do not question a providers ability to do so. However if this is just a code assignment with its standardized description then we must look to what diagnosis has been rendered. If in the note the provider indicates a lesion or skin anomaly or it looks like an AK then you must use the L98.9 code for skin lesion. We cannot assign benign neoplasm codes as a default, there must be a pathology report to use the benign or malignant or uncertain behavior codes.

you should look close at the documentation.. did the provider render a diagnosis of an AK or did he assign a code for an AK. If the provider rendered a bona fide diagnosis of an AK then as a coder we do not question a providers ability to do so. However if this is just a code assignment with its standardized description then we must look to what diagnosis has been rendered. If in the note the provider indicates a lesion or skin anomaly or it looks like an AK then you must use the L98.9 code for skin lesion. We cannot assign benign neoplasm codes as a default, there must be a pathology report to use the benign or malignant or uncertain behavior codes.

Greetings Michelle,