Wiki 94640 Neb Question- Pls Help!

marissa487

Contributor
Best answers
I'm new in the coding field and I keep seeing the same issue within my practice, whenever I bill for a nebulizer treatment with an E/M service (99211-99214) the neb is paid (or dropped as a deductible to the patient) and the E/M is globaled out with a zero pay. I must not be billing this service right, I have tried it a few ways, with a few different modifiers but nothing I do is able to get the E/M AND the nebulizer paid for. Has anyone else come across this or have any suggestions? Please help!!!
(PS I work in Pediatrics, not sure if this makes a difference)

I'm new in the coding field and I keep seeing the same issue within my practice, whenever I bill for a nebulizer treatment with an E/M service (99211-99214) the neb is paid (or dropped as a deductible to the patient) and the E/M is globaled out with a zero pay. I must not be billing this service right, I have tried it a few ways, with a few different modifiers but nothing I do is able to get the E/M AND the nebulizer paid for. Has anyone else come across this or have any suggestions? Please help!!!
(PS I work in Pediatrics, not sure if this makes a difference)

Marissa, have you tried attaching Modifier 25 to the E/M codes? Are all payers denying the E/M service or just a few?

I assume (dangerous to assume, I know) that you are coding and billing professional charges, not facility charges, correct? I'm not aware of 94640 carrying global days and indeed, there are no issues with NCCI edits when I checked it against a few E/M codes.

If I may offer some advice, it would be to check your specific payer contracts to see if there are any exclusions. If not, it would be worth a phone call to the plan rep asking for a valid denial reason.

Best of luck,
Jettman