Wiki 93970 with 93971

maine4me

Guru
Best answers
I am new to vascular coding and need help with this issue. There is a vascular surgeon at our surgical practice, however his billing and coding is being done by a outside billing company. I have a RAC audit, because the services were billed as 93970 - 26 and 93971 - 26. I think based on the following note we should have only billed the 93970.

Duplex imaging of the right internal jugular, subclavian, axillary, and brachial veins reveals no evidence of echogenic material within the vein. Compression reveals good approximation of opposing vein walls. Augmentation is normal. Cephalic vein is not visualized. Basilic vein is and there is no evidence of superficial phlebitis.

Duplex imaging of the left internal jugular, subclavian, axillary, and brachial veins reveals no evidence of echogenic material within the vein. Compression reveals good approximation of opposing vein walls. Augmentation is normal.

This all there is for the description of the procedure. Now, maybe I am wrong, but I do not think the 26 modifier is appropriate in this case either.

Thanks for the help.

Hi,

This should be coded with 93970-26 please gothrough the below guideline to code duplex,

1. Technique
Upper extremity duplex evaluation consists of grayscale and Doppler assessment of all the accessible portions of the subclavian, innominate, internal jugular, and axillary veins, as well as compression grayscale ultrasound of the brachial, basilic, and cephalic veins in the upper arm to the elbow. All accessible veins should be scanned using optimal grayscale and Doppler techniques as well as appropriate positioning. Venous compression is applied to accessible veins in the transverse plane with adequate pressure on the skin to completely obliterate the normal vein lumen.
Symptomatic areas, such as the forearm, may require additional evaluation, if the cause of the symptoms is not already elucidated by the standard examination.
2. Recording