Wiki 63650 lead trial placement

vjefcoats

Networker
Best answers
Hi!

Need some help with cpt 63650. MD placed (2) leads 63650 and L8680 (16) electrodes for a medicare patient. Also charging for 95972, 77003, 99144.
How would you post this per line item?

Thanks
Vicki

You will probably have some of those codes denied. 77003 is bundled into 63650 and will probably be denied. 95972 is for programming of an implanted IPG, which is not done in a trial, and will probably be denied. If it is not denied, it is because the insurance carrier did not realize that this was just a trial. Be careful if you are billing L8680 sixteen times. You only used two lead arrays and can only charge for two lead arrays, regardless of the number of leads within the arrays. To answer your question, I would code this:

63650 x2
99144 x1
L8680 x2

Someone else may have a different opinion.

Richard Mann, your pain management coder
rkmcoder@yahoo.com

Thanks for replying back!. I am new to PM coding but I coded ortho for past 3 years. Do you know where I can get good info on PM coding especially 63650?

http://professional.medtronic.com/d...Billed_Codes_Combined_Jan_Feb_2010_NI9803.pdf

Here is a link for code reference for SCS procedures.

Below is a link to live seminar on SCS coding at the end of April

http://www.audioeducator.com/conference-Spinal-Cord-Stimulator-Coding-Changes-2010-280410

In regards, to L8680 Implantable neurostimulator electrode (with any number of contact points), each----I heard that you bill 1 unit for each contact or electrode----so 16 units I think would be correct. I don't bill for trials done in the office so I am not for sure