Wiki 29867 only?

MELJNBBRB

Guru
Best answers
Hi list :)
I am hoping you experts out there can provide me some assistance. I am still fairly new to Ortho coding.
I am getting an edit for codes 29867 & 29879.
Tia
Melissa Bedford,CCS,CPC

PREOPERATIVE DIAGNOSIS:
Chondral defect Right trochlea

POSTOPERATIVE DIAGNOSIS:
Same

PROCEDURES:
1. Osteochondral allograft implantation right trochlea (27415)
2. Arthroscopic microfracture right trochlea. (29879)

SURGEON:
, M.D.

ASSISTANT:
PA was crucial for the entirety of the procedure.
There was no qualified resident available.

ANESTHESIA:
General.

ESTIMATED BLOOD LOSS:
50cc

IV FLUIDS:
1100cc

INDICATIONS FOR PROCEDURE:
a 36 y.o. male with right knee injury while
stepping off of a curb 1 week ago. Of note, he had
intramedullary nail and subsequent hardware removal 10 years
ago on his right tibia. He felt a pop and had swelling after
the injury as well as difficulty bending and instability. He
denies any patellar instability. He had an MRI that showed a chondral defect over his trochlea. He was advised the risks and benefits of operative versus nonoperative treatment. He understood those risks and benefits and agreed to proceed with surgery today.

DESCRIPTION OF PROCEDURE:
He was brought to the operating room, placed supine on the OR
table, underwent general anesthesia without difficulty. Preop time-out was
done identifying his Right knee as the operative knee. He was given preoperative antibiotics in the holding area.

His examination under anesthesia revealed a stable Lachman, stable to varus
and valgus stress, stable anterior and posterior drawer.

He was placed in nonsterile tourniquet and prepped and draped in sterile fashion using ChloraPrep. His limb was elevated, exsanguinated and tourniquet was raised.

Standard diagnostic arthroscopy was begun using anteromedial and anterolateral portals with the following findings: