Wiki 11730 (nail avulsion) vs 11750 (matrixectomy) STILL CONFUSED (jump to procedure note example at the bottom for a quicker read)

astaud

New
Best answers
Hi everyone,

I've been coding podiatry for 3 years and remain confused about the difference in the language between these two procedures. I have watched YouTube videos from 5 different channels demonstrating these procedures--though some of the videos labeled as "nail avulsions" use phenol at the end of the procedure, and I thought phenol was only used a chemical agent to DESTROY the matrix--So now I'm wondering if phenol is routinely applied during nail avulsion procedures not to permanently destroy, but rather to discourage the nail from growing? I have no idea. I'm just so confused. Additionally, the components of both procedures sound very similar. I even broke down the descriptions from my Coding companion book into simpler language and it still did not help me. Here is my condensed description (taken from the Optum Coding Companion AND vitalware):

Nail avulsion (11730): The physician bluntly dissects the nail plate from the nail bed
A freer elevator is inserted under edge of the nail plate and lifted
A gap forms between the nail bed and the nail plate
The freer elevator is moved in a side to side motion to free up the lateral margins of the nail
The freer elevator is then inserted under the cuticle and again moved in a side to side motion
A hemostat is used to grasp the nail
The nail is avulsed with twisting motion

Matrixectomy (11750): the physician removes all or part of the nail plate and destroys the matrix permanently
A freer elevator is inserted under the distal edge of the nail and is used to
free up the nail plate from lateral edge
The new lateral edge is identified
A nail splitter is used to cut the nail straight back to the most proximal edge under the nail fold
A hemostat is used to grasp the severed lateral piece of nail
The nail is pulled straight out toward the end of the toe