Wiki new to chemo

WonderCoder

Contributor
Best answers
I am new to chemo coding and would love some help with this scenario.

pt recieved:

Zofran start 10:12 end 10:38
Carboplatin start 11:00 end 12:12
Etoposide start 12:25 end 13:56
Compazine start 13:25 end 13:37

What would be appropriate to bill for the compazine push adm?

Thank you

Compazine IVP

Based on your scenario it would be appropriate to code compazine as 96375. Hope this information helps and Good Luck!

Wondercoder~
According to CPT guidelines, the 96375 is to be used fora "secondary or subsequent service." The Compazine was pushed concurrently with the Etoposide, therefore you cannot charge for the IVP of compazine. Hopefully this clarification didn't come too late. Best of luck!

Wondercoder~
According to CPT guidelines, the 96375 is to be used fora "secondary or subsequent service." The Compazine was pushed concurrently with the Etoposide, therefore you cannot charge for the IVP of compazine. Hopefully this clarification didn't come too late. Best of luck!

Hmmmmm. I think they were referring to secondary to the initial not secondary meaning other services are no longer running. The difference between initial and secondary with infusions is vein access. If a vein is accessed only once then you can have only one initial code all others must be subsequent. So an infusion can be running and secondary to that access but while those fluids are infusion a push can be administered. Therefore the compazine can be coded with the 96375.

RE: Mitchellde's Response