Wiki Chief Complaint

hthomson

Best answers
Help. I am new to the auditing process. One of the training tools I was given states that you cannot use the information in the chief complaint as a countable element in the hpi. An example would be CC: Patient here for f/u of depression and anxiety. The note then flows right into the Subjective. Am I able to use the depression and anxiety as two chronic problems? Thank You

Help. I am new to the auditing process. One of the training tools I was given states that you cannot use the information in the chief complaint as a countable element in the hpi. An example would be CC: Patient here for f/u of depression and anxiety. The note then flows right into the Subjective. Am I able to use the depression and anxiety as two chronic problems? Thank You

The chief complaint can also be HPI - you can't share HPI with ROS or PFSH. I wouldn't list this as 2 chronic problems, unless there's also documentation of the current status of the problems, and their treatment plan. I would score that as brief HPI, based on 1 element - associated symptom. I actually wrote an article over the History component, that might help you...

Go here: https://www.aapc.com/resources/publications/cutting-edge/archive.aspx
It's in the May 2013 issue, page 48...

Hope that helps! ;)

I recently was asked to audit some charts which had been audited by an outside billing company that we use for one of our groups. Quickly, I could tell that I was looking at the work of multiple auditors, and I know we could get 6 coders in one room and everyone could come up with the same E/M but we may get there in a slightly different manner. Here is my question, one of the auditors did not count the chief complaint because it was not in the first person. The patient was being seen in follow-up for breast cancer (this was the documented CC). I know the CC should be in the patient's own words, but is it necessary that it be in the first person?