Wiki 64483 & 62311 billable on same level??

ojustus

Contributor
Best answers
My provider has given codes 62311 & 64483 and they are for the same level. This is not billable this way is it?? I don't see where he took a transforaminal approach so wouldn't 62311 be the correct code by itself? I am noticing he is doing this quite often on injections and I am new to this surgery center. Don't feel comfortable billing both of these. Procedure note is below.

Please give me feedback. Thanks!!!!

Olivia

Report Type: Procedure note
Pre op Diagnosis: herniated lumbar disc L5-S1 left, with severe sciatic pain
Post op Diagnosis: herniated lumbar disc L5-S1 left, with severe sciatic pain
Procedure: Lumbar epidural steroid injection, L5-S1 left-sided approach, under guided fluoroscopy.
Surgeon:
Anesthesia: Local subcutaneous infiltration of 2% lidocaine.
Title of procedure: Lumbar epidural steroid injection at the level L5-S1 left, under fluoroscopic control, and guidance. Fluoroscopy time approx.30sec. and 10 spot pictures for guidance of needle tip to location. Use of 80 mg of methylprednisolone, with 2% lidocaine approximately 3 cc volume total.

Indications for procedure: this is a 25-year-old woman, who has been suffering with left sciatic pain intermittently secondary to L5-S1 herniated disc, compressing S1 nerve root. Initially she was treated with medical oral pain management, and steroids. She required one a posterior injection approximately 8 weeks ago. She experienced good relief with it. Recently symptoms have been exacerbated, with a pain level 5/10, on daily basis. She was therefore advised consider, second epidural steroid injection. Informed consent was obtained.