Wiki 63081 and 22551

ksrkelly7

Networker
Best answers
Hi there,

I am new to coding neuro surgery and would like some help please. These are the codes I'm thinking, but I'm not sure and would like some clarification. This is a Medicare patient.

63081 C6
22551 C3-4
22552 C5-6
22851 cage
22851-XS plate
76001-26

PREOPERATIVE DIAGNOSIS:
1. Cervical disc disease as documented on the imaging studies at C3 4 with cord compression and cord injury c 6 with cord compression cord injury C6 7 cord compression cord injury C osteophyte extending level of C7
2. Failure of conservative treatment, progressive worsening.
3. Patient presents with severe myelopathy worsening motor and sensory loss involving upper and lower extremities sensory loss lower extremities as well as uppers failure of conservative treatment_

PROCEDURE:
1. Anterior cervical diskectomy with exposure down to the dura and removal
of osteophyte at the level of C3 4 C5 6 and C6 7 , 3 levels
2. Arthrodesis fusion at the level of C3 4 C5 6 C6 7, 3 levels
3 corpectomy C6
3. Anterior segmental fixation of the cervical spine using a Synthes plate
with Apex.
4. Placement of biomechanical intervertebral body device at the level of C3 4 and the level of C5 to C7, 3 levels levels
5. Placement of both allo and auto graft
6. Intraoperative fluoroscopy for 3 hours.

INDICATIONS FOR PROCEDURE:
This patient is presenting with symptomatic cervical disease at C3 4 C56 C6 7 with large osteophyte and compression of the cord across the vertebral body of C6 severe narrowing and signs of cord injury myelopathy
The clinical course shows deterioration of myelopathy with sensory and motor loss as noted

OPERATIVE PROCEDURE:
The patient was brought to the operating room. A formal time out was done in the room.
The patient was put to sleep under general anesthesia.
His neck was shaved, prepped, and draped in sterile fashion.
Initial transverse incision was made using 10 blade.